The Kate O’Regan Moot Competition is the University of Cape Town’s premier moot competition. The inaugural competition was hosted in 2017. Since then, the competition has been a major success, attracting some of the highest profile legal practitioners in South Africa as adjudicators. These practitioners range from attorneys, advocates, and academics to former and current Constitutional Court Justices - including Justices Sachs, Cameron, Moseneke, Nkabinde, Kollapen and O’Regan.

Kate O'Regan Moot 2023

In 2023, CLS joined the UCT Student Moot Society and Faculty Moot Committee as a co-host of the competition. The moot included 11 teams from across South Africa.