## COUNCIL ON HIGHER EDUCATION



1 Quintin Brand Street, Persequor Technopark, Tshwane P O Box 94, Technopark, 0020 South Africa Website: http://www.che.ac.za Tel: +27 12 349 3861; Email: ceo@che.ac.za

14 June 2018

Professor Lis Lange Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Teaching and Learning University of Cape Town Private Bag X3 RONDEBOSCH 7701

E-mail: <u>lis.lange@uct.ac.za</u>

Dear Prof Lange

## **REVISED ACCREDITATION DECISION: BACHELOR OF LAWS PROGRAMME**

In the letter dated 14 November 2017, you were informed of the HEQC decision to put your Bachelor of Laws (LLB) programme on 'Notice of Withdrawal of Accreditation' based on the outcome of the evaluation of your improvement plan. This letter called for the submission of revised improvement plans and progress reports with respect to all the outstanding conditions.

The HEQC responded to your initial improvement plan submitted to us on 06 October 2017 with detailed comments with regards to the conditions addressed by the improvement plan. Subsequent to this, a progress report was received on 10 May 2018.

At its meeting of 07 June 2018, the HEQC reviewed your progress report together with other relevant documentation to determine the progress made in meeting the conditions specified in the HEQC accreditation report. Based on the evidence provided, the HEQC revised its accreditation decision to Full Accreditation for the Bachelor of Laws (LLB) programme offered at the University of Cape Town.

I would like to thank you and your colleagues for your co-operation, and wish you all the best in your future endeavours.

Sincerely

Helbstock

Dr Denyse Webbstock Acting CEO

The CHE is an independent statutory body established by the Higher Education Act, no. 101 of 1997. As the Quality Council for Higher Education it advises the Minister of Higher Education and Training on all higher education issues and is responsible for quality assurance and promotion through the Higher Education Quality Committee.

Council Members: Prof N. Themba Mosia (Chairperson), Mr Luzuko Buku, Prof Chris de Beer, Prof André Keet, Mr Cassie Kruger, Dr Bandile Masuku, Dr Siphokazi Moeng, Prof Shireen Motala, Ms Nombulelo Nxesi, Dr Kimberley Porteus, Prof Selby Ripinga, Prof Beverley Thaver, Dr Mvuyo Tom, Prof Mala Singh, Prof Sophie Mogotlane, Prof John Mubangizi, Dr Thomas Auf Der Heyde, Dr Sagren Govender, Mr Suren Govender, Mr Vijayen Naidoo, Dr Diane Parker, Dr Mafu Rakometsi, Mr Joe Samuels, Dr Molapo Qhobela and Prof Narend Baijnath (CEO). CC: Ms Olivia Mokgatle Director: National Standards and Reviews

> Prof Penelope Andrews Dean Law Penelope.andrews@uct.ac.za

Ms Nikki Campbell LLB Institutional coordinator Nikki.campbell@uct.ac.za

Ms Angie Coetzee Angie.coetzee@uct.ac.za